Governor Matt Bevin yesterday sent a letter to President Donald Trump, requesting a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 35 Kentucky counties that were impacted during a severe weather event beginning on Feb. 21. The weather pattern produced torrential rain that resulted in flooding, landslides and mudslides, along with intense thunderstorms that led to flash flooding and tornadoes.

Rogers Announces Bill to Fund Disaster Relief

Jul 15, 2015

Kentucky Congressman Hal Rogers says a bill approved in the House Appropriations Committee on Tuesday (July 14) fully funds the disaster relief request from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The Somerset Republican chairs the panel and says that’s one of the reasons he supports the measure that allocates nearly 40-billion dollars in discretionary funding to the Department of Homeland Security.


The Federal Emergency Management Agency has amended a recent disaster declaration for March severe storms and snow in order to make Bath and Harlan counties eligible for its Public Assistance program.

Local governments and eligible private nonprofit organizations in Bath and Harlan may apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of emergency work, debris removal and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged infrastructure. FEMA’s Public Assistance is a cost-share reimbursement program.

Fairfield Citizen

The disaster recovery centers in Madison and Rowan counties will close at 6 p.m. on Thursday, May 21, and the Bourbon County disaster recovery center will close at 6 p.m. (EDT) on Friday, May 22.

The centers, which have been operated by the commonwealth of Kentucky and the Federal Emergency Management Agency, are located at:

• 525 High St. (Paris Municipal Service Building) in Paris.

• 558 S. Keeneland Drive (Madison County Joint Information Center) in Richmond.

• 314 Bridge St. (Morehead City Administration Building) in Morehead.

SI Live

Two Disaster Recovery Centers operated by the Commonwealth of Kentucky and the Federal Emergency Management Agency will open at noon Thursday, May 7th in Lawrence and Madison counties.

The centers will be open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday – Saturday. The centers are located at:

Lawrence County Community Center

180 Bulldog Lane

Louisa, KY 41230

Madison County Emergency Management

Joint Information Center

558 S. Keeneland Dr.

Richmond, KY 40475