MSPR to rebroadcast Kentucky Writers HOF - Friday, May 16, at 7 p.m.

May 2, 2014

Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY 90.3FM) will present a program showcasing Kentucky writers.

The Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame announced the 2014 Hall of Fame class at an induction ceremony earlier this year at the Carnegie Center in Lexington. This is the second class to be inducted.

MSPR will air a program showcasing the introductions, readings and musical performances Friday, May 16, at 7 p.m.

The 2014 class includes: 

Children’s author Rebecca Caudill, best known for “A Pocketful of Cricket” and “Tree of Freedom;"

University of Kentucky professor Thomas D. Clark, best known for “A History of Kentucky;”

Novelist Janice Holt Giles, whose work focused on Kentucky historical fiction; 

James Baker Hall, a UK professor and Kentucky’s 2001 Poet Laureate; 

Affrilachian poet Etheridge Knight, whose work was strongly influenced by the civil rights movement;

Thomas Merton, a Trappist monk and one of the most prolific 20th century Catholic writers;

and Jesse Stuart, known for his sonnets and focus on rural Appalachia.

Selections from their work were read by Marcia Thornton Jones, James Klotter, Katerina Stoyanova, Sarah Wylie VanMeter, Jude McPherson, Eric Reece and Georgia Green Stamper.

Neil Chethik, Carnegie Center director, served as master of ceremonies, providing the introductions for each writer and reader. The ceremony was recorded and produced by WUKY. 

Morehead State Public Radio broadcasts 24 hours a day from the campus of Morehead State University. WMKY (90.3 FM) serves as the flagship station for the MSPR network, which includes translator (88.3 FM) in Inez. MSPR serves more than 20 counties in Kentucky, Ohio and West Virginia.

Information is available by calling MSPR at 1-800-286-9659 or 606-783-2001; or log on to www.wmky.org.